St. George Myrrh Bearing Women Committee

The St George Myrrh Bearing Women (SGMBW) is the Ladies Committee for St George Cathedral. It was formerly known as the Ladies Guild, which has been in operation since 1920 and was formalised as a Church organisation in 1940.

The activities of the ladies are extensive, and they are present in every part of the church social activities.

They are master caterers and master organisers of all types of functions, including gala balls, debutante balls, formal dinners, dinner dancers, lunches, picnics, cruises, cooking for the homeless and Youth retreats.

The SGMBW provided strong support for the St George Centenary functions during 2023.

On the 31st of August 2023, the SGMBW organised a High Tea at the Queen Victoria High Tea Rooms and 200 ladies were present to commemorate the Centenary of St George Cathedral.

The ladies are also heavily involved in fellowship and prayer groups including the Saint Mary and Martha group.

The current office bearers are:

President: Yvette Jammal-Wassaf
Vice President: Cathy Harb
Treasurer: Theresa Melick
Secretary: Alexandra Matouk